Cinnamon Buns

Standard

Cinnamon Buns_1

Oh my goodness ya’ll! I got engaged this weekend!!! I’ve been on cloud nine since Friday.  I could not be more excited or happy! I have to say, I’ve definitely been pretty side tracked at work the last two days.  All I want to do is stare at my ring.  Ok, I’ll stop gushing now.

Onto the yummy stuff! So last week my FIANCE and I were craving cinnamon buns. But we had nothing in the fridge but a roll of Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits. I figured I could roll them out into 1 sheet and make something with them.  Brad doubted me though, which I don’t think he ever will again as he ended up eating 4 of these babies.  They seriously came out a thousand times better than those packaged biscuits. Check out my recipe below and enjoy these gooey, cinnamon-y, sweet pastries!

Cinnamon Buns_2Ingredients:

  • 1 package of Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 3 TBSP butter melted

Icing/Glaze Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1-2 Tbsp milk

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine and form biscuits into a ball.  Roll out the dough into an even sheet on a floured surface.  Try to make it as even as possible in a rectangular shape.

Mix together the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl and put aside.

Mix together 2 TBSP of the melted butter and the vanilla in a separate small bowl.  You will need the rest of the butter to brush on the outside before baking.

Once you have your dough rolled out, spoon the vanilla/butter mixture evenly onto the dough.  Sprinkle the cinnamon/sugar mixture on top of the butter and spread it evenly covering as much of the surface as possible.  Then you will want to gently roll the dough long ways into a tube.  Next you will need to gently slice the dough into 1 1/2 in pieces (approximately) and lay each piece into a buttered dish.  You can use a round dish or a Pyrex rectangular dish.  Which ever you have on hand.  I like the round pie dishes better just to keep all the sides of the cinnamon buns from getting too browned on the edges.  The round dish lets the pieces touch and lay next to one another better.  1 package should make about 8-10 cinnamon buns. Spread the remaining melted butter over the buns evenly with a brush.

You’ll just want to bake these according to the regular package directions. I recommend starting at 20 min and checking them.  You don’t want them to be too browned or over done.  These guys are better soft and gooey.

Cinnamon Buns_5

Once they are done, you’ll want to mix your glaze/icing.  Pour ingredients together in a bowl and mix well.  Adjust the powdered sugar and milk until you’ve reached the consistency you want.  Pour the glaze over top of the buns while they are still warm so the glaze melts and covers them well.  You definitely don’t want to skimp on this part! Finally, enjoy!

Cinnamon Buns_4

Cinnamon Buns_3

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Buns

Leave a comment